Banana Peanut Butter Overnight Oats

So, it’s finally getting a  bit lighter in the morning. Getting up at the crack of dawn is one thing, but I find being on the platform waiting for my train as dawn is breaking actively offensive.

This week was the first when it was worth actually opening the curtains as I was eating my breakfast. Personally, I’m a fan of daylight – it just makes getting up to face the day more appealing. But I still need a little convincing…

That’s where this recipe comes in.

Banana peanut butter oats

Some people can’t stand the thought of eating in the morning. I go to bed dreaming about breakfast… I hope that’s not just me! But for anyone, having a really delicious, interesting and day-fuelling bowl ready to go is a great way to kick off busy mornings. That’s why overnight oats have (quite rightly) become all the rage. Chuck everything in a bowl the night before, pop it in the fridge and it’ll be waiting for you – stumbling half asleep in the dark – to find it the next day. Plus, it’s entirely personisable. I’m hooked!

Banana peanut butter oats 2.jpg

My current favourite combination is packed with energy and protein, plus a wonderful balance of sweetness, creaminess and a touch of saltiness. Banana, peanut butter, oats and chia are a dreamy combination. And, as it’s me, I couldn’t resist a little chocolate hit…

Banana peanut butter oats 3

Cacao nibs add little intense, chocolatey hits all the way through, which I love. If you don’t like rich cocoa tastes, you might want to leave them out, or swap them for chocolate chips. But I’m a fan of the bitterness against the sweet and creamy banana, and find that the intensity mellows overnight during soaking.

These can sit well-covered in the fridge for several days. I usually make two at once, splitting a large banana between the bowls, but you could get set up for the whole week ahead if you so desire.

So, if you want to find out about my current wake-up motivation, read on!

Banana peanut butter oats 5

Serves: 1                     Time: 5 mins prep, plus overnight soaking

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/3 cup (about 30g) oats
  • 1 small or 1/2 large ripe banana, sliced
  • 1/2 cup (about 120ml) milk
  • 1-2 tbsp low fat yoghurt (not absolutely necessarily, but adds extra creaminess)
  • 1/2-1 tbsp salted peanut or other nut butter (if you’re totally nuts for nuts, go ahead and add more)
  • 1-2 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp stevia/syrup/honey/sugar
  • a few drops of vanilla
  • 2 tsp cacoa nibs (optional)
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder and/or a sprinkling of cinnamon (optional)

METHOD

You know the drill. Mash it all up in a bowl, cover it well and pop it in the fridge. (Whoever came up with this deserves some sort of medal.) All the flavours will fuse, the oats will soften and the mix will become really creamy.

I usually take my bowl out of the fridge – and turn on the kettle for some warm lemon water – before heading upstairs for ten minutes to wash my face, moisturise and repeatedly tell myself that crawling back into bed is not a good idea. This way the oats aren’t freezing when I delicately bite into them (/smash them in my face). If the oats are stiff, add a splash of fresh milk, and stir into a creamy delight.

Oh, and I tell you from experience – these are also delicious warmed up.

Happy breakfasting!

 

Leave a comment